(323) 486-6579
We are open for Dental Emergencies. Click here for more info on COVID -19

The Anatomy Of Your Teeth In Bellflower, CA

OCT 07

Know your smile inside out!

A smile is one of the most striking features of your personality and the first thing people notice about you. From the front (anterior) to the back (posterior) teeth, you would see that every tooth is different in terms of shape and size- the tooth anatomy changes. As shiny and straightforward as the tooth appears from the outside, each has complex anatomy with multiple tissue layers. Every part of the tooth has its significance and is crucial in maintaining optimum dental health. Every dentist and dental hygienist visualizes your dental health and dental problems based on the tooth structure. However, if you have a hard time learning the tooth anatomy or want to know your smile better, this article is for you.

Dental Health- Things you never knew

Healthy teeth enable you to live a healthy life. They do not only help you with biting, chewing, and proper speech. They also cleanse your mouth from harmful bacteria before they get into your body and may create chaos. Every tooth in your mouth has its specific place, and every part of the tooth has particular properties and functions. Although every tooth appears different from the other, the internal structure and layers are somewhat the same.


Different types of teeth:

Adults have 32 permanent teeth (16 in each jaw), while kids have 20 deciduous (milk teeth- 10 in each jaw.) The teeth can be anterior (in the front area) and posterior (in the back area.) Posterior teeth are more significant than the anterior, and lower teeth are smaller than the upper teeth. There are four types of teeth:

Incisors (central and laterals): Anterior teeth, four in the lower jaw and four in the upper. They are used for cutting or biting food.
Canines: They are next to the incisors and are considered the strongest teeth. Two are in the upper jaw and two in the lower jaw. The edges of canines are pointed and used for biting or tearing.
Bicuspids: Anterior-posterior teeth (midway between the front and back) are also called premolars. There are four of them in each arch and aid in crushing the food.
Molars: They are the biggest teeth of all. Six of them are present in the posterior area of each arch. They aid in grinding and chewing teeth.

The deciduous teeth do not have the premolars and the third molars (wisdom teeth) and are very small compared to the adult or permanent teeth.

Teeth arrangement in adults in each arch:
Two central incisors
Two lateral incisors
Two canines
Four bicuspids (premolars)
Three molars

Teeth arrangement is kids in each arch:
Two central incisors
Two lateral incisors
Two canines
Four molars


Tooth Anatomy- Different parts of the tooth

Now that you know the number and different types of teeth that make you smile, let us delve into more details. Although the permanent teeth are other than the milk or deciduous teeth, they consist of the same tooth anatomy- the difference lies in the size and shape of the teeth. Majorly, or as we see it in the mouth, each tooth is divided into two parts:

Anatomical crown: This is the visible part of the tooth that is seen sitting above the gums. A hard tissue layer called enamel covers the outer surface of the crown.
Root portion: This is hidden under the gums and cannot be visualized in the oral cavity. Anterior teeth mostly have a single root, while the posterior teeth are multi-rooted.
Gingiva or gum line: The part where the anatomical crown and the gums meet and the root portion starts.

There are multiple hard and soft tissue layers under the crown and root portion. Here is what you need to know:

Enamel: The hardest and most calcified tooth layer enclosing the other layers in the crown portion. It is even harder than the bone. However, it has no living cells; therefore, it cannot heal itself once damaged or decayed and needs proper dental treatment.
Cementum: The cementum is the most calcified layer covering the root portion as enamel does in the crown portion.
Dentin: It is a softer layer beneath the enamel in the crown portion and the cementum in the root portion. It consists of hollow tubes or canals. If the outer layer is damaged and caries reach the dentin, the tooth becomes sensitive. The tubular channels stimulate the nerves and cells inside the pulp. Dentin is considered a partially living tissue.
Pulp: It is the living tissues consisting of cells and nerves in the center of the crown portion and extending to the apex of the roots. The part of the pulp present in the crown portion is the pulp chamber.
Root canal: The canals in the tooth's roots extend from the pulp chamber and contain the pulp.

Other parts around the tooth:

Gums: Anatomically known as the gingiva, the pinkish soft tissue covering the roots of the tooth and the unerupted teeth.
Jawbone: Also known as the alveolar bone, it surrounds the root of the tooth, or as you can say, holds your teeth in place.
Periodontal ligaments: These are the collagenous fibers that attach the tooth to the gums and the jawbone.

Dental problems alter the tooth anatomy, destroying the internal structure. The more extensive the tooth decay is into the tooth, the more pain and sensitivity the patient will experience. Therefore, now that you know your teeth better, it is high time to up your dental health game.

Take The Conversation Even Further...

We'd love to know your thoughts on this article... Jump over to Google+ or Twitter to join the conversation right now!

Tap-To-Call (323) 486-6579

We'll send the deal directly to your email address. Or call us now and mention the website.



Office hours are Tuesday - Friday 10a-7p, Sat 9a-5p Closed Sun & Mon, but we answer calls 24/7.